What this feature does Windows Anytime Upgrade allows you to easily upgrade your version of Windows Vista by directing you to one of our participating merchant's websites where you can purchase the upgrade and download the needed software.
Information collected, processed or transmitted When you use Windows Anytime Upgrade and click Begin upgrade process, you will be sent to a participating merchant's website. Some additional information will also be sent, including your current Windows Vista edition and country or region code, the version you would like to upgrade to, the vendor that your current operating system was purchased from, and the merchant that your upgrade request should be directed to.
Use of information The information is used to connect you with the merchant and to help ensure that you can upgrade your computer to the correct version of Windows. The information is first sent to a Microsoft server, where it is used for auditing purposes, and then redirected to the appropriate participating merchant.
Choice and control You can begin an upgrade at any time, or cancel the evaluation and purchase process at any time. Administrators can disable Windows Anytime Upgrade through Group Policy.
For more information about Windows Anytime Upgrade, see Windows Help and Support.
What this feature does Windows Calendar offers you an easy way to manage appointments and tasks, and it allows you to publish any calendars you create so they may be shared with other users.
Information collected, processed or transmitted Information that you enter in your calendars is stored locally on your computer. If you choose to publish a calendar, the information will be exported to the host server of your choice and made available to any user who subscribes to your calendar on the host server. Subscribers will be able to view the summary information (or title) of your appointments. You can choose to share other information such as calendar notes, event titles, alarms, and tasks. Any updates that you make to your calendar information will be sent to all subscribers, if you choose.
Use of information Your calendar helps you keep track of your appointments and tasks. Publishing your calendar information allows others to do the same. If you publish your calendar, we recommend that you do not enter personal information in your calendar that you do not want to other people to view.
Choice and control You may choose whether to publish calendar notes, event titles, alarms, or tasks for each of your calendars. Once published, you may choose to automatically synchronize calendar updates for all subscribers to receive. You may choose to publish your calendar with password protection, limiting subscribers to only designated friends and family members who can access and view it. You can remove any of your published calendars from the host server at any time. The server used to host published calendars might be owned by your Internet Service Provider (ISP), or another third party. If you send information to a third-party, use of the information will be subject to the third-party’s privacy practices.
Windows Collaboration Technologies
People Near Me
What this feature does People Near Me is a service that identifies people nearby on your local network (subnet) who are using computers and allows those people to send you invitations for programs such as Windows Meeting Space. They can only invite you to participate in programs that are installed on your computer. To use People Near Me, you have to sign in to the service.
Information collected, processed or transmitted By default, your People Near Me display name, computer name, and IP address are visible to all people on your local network. If you choose to include it, your user account picture (the picture displayed on the Start menu) will also be visible. Programs using People Near Me might publish additional information that can be seen by other users.
Use of information This information is not sent to or used by Microsoft. Only people on your local network (subnet) can see the information.
Choice and control You can choose to automatically sign in and use People Near Me when you log on, or sign in each time you want to use the service. You can also choose your People Near Me display name and user account picture.
What this feature does Windows Meeting Space helps you to more effectively collaborate with people in a meeting room or across the Internet. You can share files, stream your desktop or an application to others, and keep track of who is attending meetings. You can also create ad-hoc wireless networks to enable collaboration anytime or anywhere.
Information collected, processed or transmitted During Windows Meeting Space sessions, all participants will be able to see your People Near Me display name, IP address, and computer name, as well as your user tile, which is the picture normally displayed on the Windows Start screen.
Use of information The information is used by other Windows Meeting Space participants to identify you. Only Windows Meeting Space participants can see the information. This information is not sent to or used by Microsoft.
Choice and control You can choose the meetings that you want to participate in. You may also choose your People Near Me display name, user tile, and the files that you want to share with other participants. Your user tile can be excluded from sharing with others by clearing the option in the People Near Me Personal Settings dialog box. You are notified about who is participating in each Windows Meeting Space session that you participate in.