• Network Awareness
  • Online Print Ordering Wizard
  • Parental Controls
  • Windows Vista™ Privacy Statement Last Updated: November 2006 Contents




    Download 252.97 Kb.
    bet7/13
    Sana21.03.2017
    Hajmi252.97 Kb.
    1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   ...   13

    Internet Protocol version 6 Network Address Translation Traversal


    What this feature does
    The Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) Network Address Translation (NAT) Traversal service helps existing home Internet gateway devices transition from IPv4 to IPv6. IPv6 helps enable end-to-end connectivity that is often needed by peer-to-peer applications.

    Information collected, processed or transmitted
    Each time you start up your computer, the NAT Traversal service will attempt to locate a public IPv6 Internet service by sending a query over the Internet. If you use a program (for example, Windows Meeting Space) that needs IPv6 connectivity, or if you configure your firewall to always enable IPv6 connectivity, then standard Domain Name Service (DNS) information will periodically be sent to the Microsoft IPv6 web service by default. No additional information is sent to Microsoft.

    Use of information
    This query sends standard DNS information to determine if your computer is connected to the Internet and if it can locate a public IPv6 service.

    Choice and control
    Using the netsh command line tool, you can change the query that the service sends over the Internet to use non-Microsoft servers instead, or you can turn off this feature.

    Network Awareness


    What this feature does
    This feature collects Internet and intranet network connectivity information such as the Domain Name Service (DNS) suffix of your computer, forest name, and gateway address of networks that your computer connects to. The Network Awareness feature makes the connectivity information available through an application programming interface (API) to applications on your computer that might require the information to function properly.

    Information collected, processed or transmitted
    No personal information is intentionally transferred or stored by this feature. Network connectivity profiles are stored in the registry. Network connectivity profiles can include the Network List Service, which provides a history of all networks visited and the date and time of the last connection.

    Use of information
    The information is not sent to Microsoft, but it is made available to applications on your computer that require network connectivity information.

    Choice and control
    The Network Location Awareness and Network List Services are on by default. An administrator can disable them using the options provided in the Services snap-in in Administrative Tools. Disabling them is not recommended because that will prevent some Windows features from functioning correctly.

    Online Print Ordering Wizard


    What this feature does
    The Online Print Ordering Wizard enables you send digital pictures stored on your computer or network drive to an online photo printing service of your choice. Depending on the service, you can have your pictures printed and then delivered using postal mail, or you can pick up the prints at a local store.

    Information collected, processed or transmitted
    If you decide to place an order with an online photo printing service, your selected digital photos are sent over the Internet to the service that you selected. The full path locations of the digital pictures that you select are also sent to the service in order to allow the service to display and upload the images. Digital picture files might contain data about the image that was stored with the file by the camera, such as the date and time that the picture was taken. The files might also contain personal information (such as captions) that may have been associated with the file through the use of digital picture management applications and Windows Explorer. For more information, see the "Properties" section later in this document.

    Use of information
    The information stored in the digital picture files by the camera may be used by the online photo printing service during the printing process, for example, to adjust the color or sharpness of the image before it is printed. Information stored by digital picture management applications may be used by the online photo printing service to print as captions on the front or back of the print copy. You should always consult the privacy statement of the online photo printing service you choose to use to determine how it uses this data.

    Choice and control
    You can use the Online Print Wizard to choose which pictures to send and which service to use to print your pictures. Some picture management applications might be able to help you remove stored personal information before sending pictures to be printed. You might also be able to edit the properties of the file to remove stored personal information. For more information about viewing or changing file properties, see Windows Help and Support.

    Parental Controls


    What this feature does
    This feature helps parents to restrict and monitor the activities of their children on the computer. Restrictions can be placed to limit the games their children can play, what websites and web content they can view, when they can use the computer, and what applications they can run. In addition, logs can be created to record the child's usage, each activity the child attempts that is restricted by parental controls, and any changes made to those restrictions. To properly use this feature, only parents should be administrators of the computer, and children should not be granted administrative privileges.

    Information collected, processed or transmitted
    Parental Controls settings that are used to determine which sites and activities to restrict or monitor are stored locally. The log is stored locally and contains information about a child's activity as well as any changes to parental controls settings for that child.

    When web browsing restrictions are turned on, URLs that a child attempts to use are checked against the local Allow and Block lists that can be created by an administrator. If the URL is not on one of these lists, then the URL is transmitted to Microsoft's Web Content Filter service to determine, if possible, the type of content offered by the website.



    Use of information
    URLs are used to try to determine the appropriate rating for sites that are not on local Allow and Block lists, and to block the site if necessary. URLs are also used to analyze and improve the ratings service. To help protect your privacy, the URLs are not stored with any information about the user or the computer from which the request came. Whether a site is blocked is determined locally based on the information returned by Microsoft's Web Content Filter Service and the locally stored Parental Controls settings. Microsoft does not use the information collected or transmitted by the Parental Controls feature to identify you or contact you.

    Choice and control
    Only users without administrative privileges can be monitored using Parental Controls. Administrators cannot be monitored and have full control of the settings and the log. Parental Controls are turned off by default. Only administrators may turn this feature on. Other users can view only the settings an administrator has applied to their own account. A monitored or restricted child will be notified by the presence of an icon in the Notification area that Parental Controls are turned on for their account.
    1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   ...   13


    Download 252.97 Kb.

    Bosh sahifa
    Aloqalar

        Bosh sahifa


    Windows Vista™ Privacy Statement Last Updated: November 2006 Contents

    Download 252.97 Kb.